50 Cent Talks War Angel LP, Which Drops Next Week

todayJune 13, 2009 2

share close

The Overdose: A Mixtape Daily Exclusive

Expect the unexpected. The game moves so quickly, and we’re prepared for anything, so you should always look to us to document it. Two Mixtape Daily articles in one day? (Make sure you peep that Fire Starter!) Why not if the content’s there?

We were prepping a real ill Behind the Beats to land Friday morning, but everything got put on pause when 50 Cent decided to phone in. The G-Unit General is putting out a project of all-new material called War Angel LP on Tuesday via He says it’s more like a street album than a mixtape. Fif — who’s in L.A. right now recording Before I Self Destruct with Timbaland and Polow Da Don — said he’s throwing heat rocks all summer long, then dropping his official LP in September (dare we dream he drops the same day as Jay?).

“I’m finnin’ to get on the street, you already know what time it is,” he said via cell.

The tagline for the project is “Prepare for Total Destruction.”

“You know what it is, it’s a conflict,” Fif described. “The exact opposite. I didn’t want to write Angel Demon. It’s not the contrast between good and bad. But … if someone’s at war, I’m sure they’re saying their prayers. They believe they have angels around them. What would you call an angel around a soldier at war?”

A War Angel, of course.

“That’s why I titled it that,” he added. “Creatively, this is not even a mixtape. That’s why I put LP next to it. … My core audience will understand it immediately, and it’s written specifically for that.”

With such a potent title, some people are obviously expecting him to go at his last known enemy: Rick Ross. Fif said that’s not the case. He’s done with the Miami MC.

“You’re gonna see,” he promised, before explaining why the beef with Ross is over. “I think if you don’t identify when you’ve won a race, you’ll continue to run victory laps until you’ve exhausted yourself. There’s nothing else to win in the Rick Ross situation. There’s nothing else to do to that guy from my perspective.”

So who will 50 be firing missiles at?

“It’s not a specific target, a specific person, I’m writing about,” he clarified. “When you hear it, out of all the material I put on the street, you’re gonna say that’s the best body of work I put out in the mixtape circuit, period. The way the mood of music is right now, when they hear what this is, they’ll say, ‘That’s what we needed.’ ”

More 50 Cent underground releases will follow in just a few short weeks.

“I have two other tapes to follow it,” he revealed. “Fourth of July, Sincerely Southside Part 2 coming out with mostly ’90s music on it. Timeless music, classic hit records. Then, after that, there’s a G-Unit mixtape. It’s actually untitled. I’ll be finished with it in the next day or so.”


The War Angel LP track list, according to 50 Cent:

1. “I Line N—as”
2. “Talking in Codes”
3. “OK, Alright”
4. “Redrum (Murder)”
5. “Cream 2009”
6. “I’ll Do Anything”
7. “London Girl”
8. “AK”
9. “Get the Message”
10. “I Gotta Win”

Source: MTV

Written by: jahknoradio

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *